Facebook Login Tips 2014

This is your complete guide to all things related to Facebook sign up, login, account information, keeping the account secure and safe. Login approvals are one of the powerful security features on Facebook to protect you account. The feature is very similar to login notifications. Turning on this feature means that you would be asked to enter a code each time you signin to your account from a new device/location. You can then name the device and save it for future use. Going forward, the device will be automatically recognized. Please note that a mobile number must be added to the account before turning on these features. Also, you might want to consider turning off this feature when you are traveling overseas.

Learn More:

10 Facebook Promotion Tips
7 Telltale Signs of Facebook Addiction
Facebook Privacy Tips 2014
Facebook Tips for Photographers

Turning on login approvals:

Head to Security Settings page: https://www.facebook.com/settings?tab=security and click “Edit” on login approvals. Check the box and save changes.

Login Approvals

Common Sign in Issue:

One of the common issues that I hear from people is that of someone else is already logged in. If you are using a shared computer, and if you notice that a user is already logged in, go to top right of Facebook page and select “Log out” and then head to https://www.facebook.com/login.php . You can them use your email address (or username/ mobile number) along with the password. If you still can’t get in successfully, you might need to considering resetting your password here: https://www.facebook.com/login/identify?ctx=recover . You may recover your account using Email, Phone, Username, or Full Name.

Protect your account by changing your password often

My personal advice is to change your password every 6-9 months. And if you have been just back from overseas trip and have used Facebook on shared computers, you might want to change it as soon as possible. Always choose a complex password that is hard to guess even by someone very close to you. DO NOT use the same password for the email associated with your Facebook and Facebook account. Avoid including the names found in the dictionary and make sure the length is atleast 6 and includes letters, numbers, upper cases and punctuation marks.

Login Notifications

Similar to login approvals, this is yet another security feature offered by Facebook. If turned on, Facebook will send you an alert message whenever someone logs in from a new location. If you did not authorize it, you can easily protect your account by changing the password. To turn on: Head to Security Settings page: https://www.facebook.com/settings?tab=security and click “Edit” on login notifications. Check the box and save changes.

Privacy Browsing

If you being asked to login to Facebook everytime you use your computer, it might be as a result of browser settings. Depending on the browser you are using, there are steps to turn it off.

Adding more than one Email to your account

Always have more than one email accounts related to your Facebook account (Say personal, work, school, etc). This will not only allows your friends to find you through multiple email addresses, but also would make it easier for your to recover your account if it is stolen.

Add/Delete Email address here: https://www.facebook.com/settings?tab=account&section=email&view

Use Real Name and stick to one account

Always use your real name when signing up for Facebook. That way, it makes it easier for your friends to find you. If you own two accounts, there is no way to merge the accounts.

Monitoring Active Sessions

To monitor your recent sessions on Facebook and to determine if there are unauthorized access, you may head to https://www.facebook.com/settings?tab=security&section=sessions&view . You get to see the date, time along with IP address location

Log Out

If you are the only one using your laptop or computer, you don’t have to worry about logging out of Facebook (No problem using “Keep me logged in”). If you are sharing the computer with other or if you are on a public computer, say in a library, I highly recommended you to log out and if possible even clear cache on the browser after using the system. Sometimes browsers do save Facebook email username if the cache is not regularly cleared and the personal information can be misused.